Pop, Rock » Jeff Wayne - Der Krieg der Welten (2005) SACD-R
Jeff Wayne - Der Krieg der Welten (2005) SACD-R
Jeff Wayne - Der Krieg der Welten (German Version)
Artist: Jeff Wayne | Album: Der Krieg der Welten | Style: Pop-Rock, Progressive Rock| Year: 2005 [1980 original] | Quality: SACD (DST 5.1, DSD 2.0) | Bitrate: 1 Bit/2.8MHz | Tracks: 5 + 8 | Size: ~2.87 + 3.01 Gb | Recovery: 3% | Covers: in archive | Release: Columbia / Sony BMG (ORP 82876 70383 2), 2005

1980 erschien das Musical in einer deutschen Version Jeff Wayne’s Musik-Version von der Krieg der Welten, bei der die gesprochenen Abschnitte des Hauptcharakters George Herbert (im Original von Richard Burton gesprochenen Textpassagen) durch deutschen Text, gesprochenen von Curd Jürgens, ersetzt wurden. Die Musikaufnahmen von 1978 blieben unangetastet und wurden unverändert in die deutsche Version übernommen.
All Music Review
Released 40 years after Orson Welles’ infamous radio version of the H.G. Wells tale, Jeff Wayne’s musical version of War of the Worlds straddles old-style radio drama and contemporary orchestrated narratives by Rick Wakeman and David Bedford. And while it lacks the sophisticated arrangements of, say, Journey to the Centre of the Earth, it does boast an impressively odd cast — … the presence of Julie Covington and the Moody Blues’ Justin Hayward in very attractive singing roles attest to its pop/rock aspirations. … The music is competent studio rock… . Overall, it’s pleasant as a period piece, and still a fine way to introduce younger listeners to Wells’ classic tale. (And if you can find it in a vinyl, it comes with a nicely produced narrative booklet with gloriously lurid illustrations by Geoff Taylor.) The album was actually appealing on too many fronts for its own good in many ways — the Justin Hayward-sung ballad “Forever Autumn,” extracted from a much longer piece on the double-LP — showed some signs of appealing to AM radio listeners and climbed to the Top 40 based on airplay alone, but by the time Columbia Records in America (missing this boat entirely) got copies of the single into stores so that people could actually buy the record, the song had dropped back down; in the meantime, the record became a favorite of discos and dance clubs in New York and elsewhere, where its extended, highly rhythmic, synthesizer-driven sections delighted deejays and audiences, and Columbia missed another bet by not releasing an instrumental-only assembly of those long passages. (In New York, for years after it went out of print on vinyl, the album was sought after by club deejays eager to spin it).

01. The Eve of the War (09:09)
02. Horsell Common and The Heat Ray (11:35)
03. The Artilleryman and The Fighting Machine (10:36)
04. Forever Autumn (07:41)
05. Thunder Child (06:07)
01. The Red Weed (Part 1) (05:55)
02. The Spirit of Man (11:37)
03. The Red Weed (Part 2) (05:24)
04. The Artilleryman Returns (01:27)
05. Brave New World (12:14)
06. Dead London (08:32)
07. Epilogue (Part 1) (02:30)
08. Epilogue (Part 2) (NASA) (01:52)

Like this post? Tell your friends about it on social networks.
  • 8 March 2021 23:28
  • Comments: 2
  • News: 0

Beide Imagedateien werden unter Windows 10 als beschädigt angezeigt.
Vergleichbares gilt mit anderen "ISO-Programmen".
Both image files are displayed as damaged under Windows 10.
The same applies to other "ISO programmes".
  • 9 March 2021 09:45
  • Comments: 763
  • News: 2261

For burn this use ImgBurn. Or to play iso jn PC use foobar2000 with sacd plugin.
  • 9 March 2021 18:58
  • Comments: 2
  • News: 0

Besten Dank - hat jetzt funktioniert!
  • 6 April 2022 19:15
  • Comments: 3
  • News: 0

I would love to see the original English version of these discs, if that is possible.
I have the actual discs but no hardware to rip them.
Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
Like this page?

Our Friends
Formats of Music